Army List: Tyranids revisited

Having some experience with Tyranids, I still need more games with them but something has been bugging me greatly – Tyrannofex.

Firstly, there’s no model and doing conversion doesn’t seem right with the models GW have. Trygon, Carnifex or Hive Tyrant models do not seem to cut it.

Secondly, statistically Tyrannofex should deliver 1 reliable result per shooting round. 2 shots at BS 3 should give a hit. At str 10 an 60+% to result something on the vehicle damage damage. Unfortunately, I constantly roll below average. So far with 3 games using Tyrannofex, it missed more often than it should be.

This lead me to revise my list as follows:

HQ
01 Hive Tyrant (Heavy Venom Cannon/Lash Whip & Bonesword, Regeneration, Armored Shell, Paroxysm, Leech Essence)
01 Hive Tyrant (Heavy Venom Cannon/Lash Whip & Bonesword, Regeneration, Armored Shell, Paroxysm, Leech Essence)
ELITE
02 Hive Guard
02 Hive Guard
01 Doom of Malan’tai (Mycetic Spore)
TROOP
10 Termagant (Fleshborer)
10 Termagant (Fleshborer)
01 Tervigon (Scything Talon, Clusters Spines, Toxin Sacs, Regeneration, Catalyst)
01 Tervigon (Scything Talon, Clusters Spines, Toxin Sacs, Regeneration, Catalyst)
FAST ATTACK
01 Harpy (TL Heavy Venom Cannon, Cluster Spines, Regeneration)
01 Harpy (TL Heavy Venom Cannon, Cluster Spines, Regeneration)

1750pts.

Added ‘regeneration’ to all my MCs to add survivability. Just to frustrate my opponent when I do regen a wound.
Added Doom of Malan’tai to punish people who doesn’t mech up.

Will see how this will turn out.

2 thoughts on “Army List: Tyranids revisited

  1. this list is quite close to my own. The troop choices are spot on for the standard tourney style list (becoz its efficient)

    my elite slot is 3 Thropes in a pod, Deathleaper and Malantai in pod. tbh, i don’t like (and never did) hive guards. its too pragmatic a unit (i still think they should be 3 shots per model).

    as for the double hive tyrant choice… i’m very skeptical of its useful-ness. my previous codex’s flying version always poof before my footslog one… the change to Shield Wall really reduced the effectiveness of how the hive tyrant is used. I still prefer the double TL devourer built… it is still deadly but oh so expensive.

    for my HQ, i am taking Warrior Prime (deathspitter) with 9 Warriors (deathspitter) in a pod. i love the math-hammer for that unit.

    i am hoping the nid FAQ will allow the Hive Commander bonus (with Pheromone trail) to stack and some errata to how the Lictors are deployed (or how their +1 reserve bonus works). Podding down on turn 2 on a 2+ is quite critical of how future Nid armies will work.

    heavy support is still double mawlocs for me… pending FAQ. the nerd-rage over if the mawloc can DS over enemy units… is rather lame… but then again, it isn’t exactly clear either. but i’m quite sure the developers intended the mawloc to appear beneath enemy units… or else what is the fucking point?

    proper rules writing tech should have worded the rules for mawloc DS deployment as “place 6″ blast template anywhere on table” instead of the psychobabble of what it is currently.

    i like the regeneration scheme of the list… but its a luxury only if you can afford it. things that need a 6 are quite hit or miss.

    1. I love to field zoanthropes in mycetic spores too but till an FAQ rectifies on Hive Commander & lictor on reserves roll, I’ll stay away from such list for now. Hive Guards are more reliable compare to Zoanthropes is what I feel.

      I purposely fielded 2 Hive Tyrants to present target saturation. Kill me Tyrants, you’ll not be killing my Tervigon. Kill me Tervigon, I will reach you and destroy you with Tyrant. Kind of this mental game. Shamelessly taken from Stelek ’empty hand’ strategy. 😀

      Tyranid prime is a very solid choice. I fielded 1 and it has performed constantly for me.

      Yeah, Mawloc rocks. Hope the FAQ will justify us fielding them.

      Hope GW comes out with FAQ soon. Some lists can’t be build till it does.

Comments are closed.