Doom of Malan’tai

There is quite an uproar regarding Doom of Malan’tai on how it should be played. Primary argument, can it affect units in transport.

I am not taking any sides till an official FAQ is up. Nonetheless, I play it that it doesn’t affect unit in transport as there’s no rule to handle unit taking morale check due to casualty.

That said, I have an opportunity to finally play Doom of M today against an all foot Space Wolves with Logan and Wolfguards.

01 Logan
01 Rune Priest (JotWW, Living lightning)
01 Lonewolf (Chainfist/Storm shield, Terminator armor)
01 Lonewolf (Chainfist/Storm shield, Terminator armor)
05 Wolfguard (01 Power weapon/Cyclone missile launcher, Terminator armor;  04 Bolter, Power armor)
05 Wolfguard (01 Power weapon/Cyclone missile launcher, Terminator armor,  04 Bolter, Power armor)
05 Wolfguard (01 Power weapon/Cyclone missile launcher, Terminator armor,  04 Bolter, Power armor)
05 Wolfguard (01 Power weapon/Cyclone missile launcher, Terminator armor,  04 Bolter, Power armor)
04 Thunderwolf Calvary (01 Power fist, 01 Melta bomb, 01 Bolter)
04 Thunderwolf Calvary (01 Power fist, 01 Melta bomb, 01 Bolter)
05 Longfang (01 Bolter, 04 Lascannon)

Game overall

  • Was a close fight as the game swing in favor with each game turn. Unfortunately for me, it went turn 7 and I lost the game.
  • Paroxysm is beautiful. Even my lowest Termagant are hitting like champions in close combat. They single handedly kills off Lonewolf on the initial assault.
  • Both my Tervigons got Jawed.
  • Didn’t roll a single wound regeneration for 7 turns.

Review on Doom of Malan’tai
It is incredible. It came in on turn 2, deep struck amongst the wolves. Both Thunderwolf Calvary and Longfangs are within 6″. Doom took a deep breathe and sucked 4 wounds from each Thunderwolf Calvary and another 4 wounds from Longfangs. Doom became so full of vitality, it had to release some stress level and shot at Thunderwolf Calvary, dealing another 3 str10 AP2 wounds.

In the following Space Wolf turn, EVERYTHING moved out of 6″ from the Doom. It’s like a beautiful ripper effect. Of course, it is charged by the Calvary soon after. It survived for another 2 turns, making an average 2 powerfist saves per combat.

In another game, the Doom of Malan’tai single handedly again drove 2 full Space Marine tactical squad off the table. It dealt an average of 3 wounds to each tactical squad each turn, forced morale check and the Marines fall off the table.

All I can say, it is a powerful unit that forces my opponent to really react to it. It has brought me precious game turns as my opponent have to react to Doom, while the rest of my army continues to move up the board almost unmolested.

I will definitely continue to field Doom of Malan’tai. It has a place in my list for what it can do for me.

Note: To view my army list, you can click a link on my right panel that points to my current army list. Also, that model of Zoanthrope is what I use as Doom of Malan’tai atm. Still need some work to make it worthy of Doom. I will continue to work on it and will post my WIP on it.

2 thoughts on “Doom of Malan’tai

  1. i agree that it doesn’t effect units in transports.

    mainly because there is no LOS to the transports contents.

    psychic powers do not affect models that are inside transports. Doom’s ability is not even a psychic power. so its pretty much a double no.

Comments are closed.