Battle Report: Space Wolves vs Tyranids

Wolves AGAIN! What can I say. Hahaha…. they are fast becoming my nemesis. (Don’t worry my friends, just trying to dramatize). Playing Apheleon and his Space Wolves yesterday(8th Apr 2010) at our LGS.

Apheleon’s Space Wolves Roster (No change)
01 RunePriest (Living Lightning, Tempest Wrath)
01 Dreadnought (02 TL Autocannon)
01 Dreadnought (02 TL Autocannon)
01 Dreadnought (02 TL Autocannon)
05 Greyhunter (05 Chainsword/Bolt Pistol, Razorback: Lascannon, TL Plasma gun)
05 Greyhunter (05 Chainsword/Bolt Pistol, Razorback: Lascannon, TL Plasma gun)
05 Greyhunter (05 Chainsword/Bolt Pistol, Razorback: Lascannon, TL Plasma gun)
05 Greyhunter (05 Chainsword/Bolt Pistol, Razorback: Lascannon, TL Plasma gun)
05 Greyhunter (05 Chainsword/Bolt Pistol, Razorback: Lascannon, TL Plasma gun)
01 Landspeeder (Multi Melta, Heavy Flamer)
01 Landspeeder (Multi Melta, Heavy Flamer)
01 Landspeeder (Multi Melta, Heavy Flamer)
01 Predator (Autocannon, Heavy Bolter Sponsons, Hunter-killer Missile)
01 Predator (Autocannon, Heavy Bolter Sponsons, Hunter-killer Missile)
01 Predator (Autocannon, Heavy Bolter Sponsons, Hunter-killer Missile)

Tyranids Roster version 1.3
Apheleon said he wanted to experience how Doom of Malan’tai works, so I obliged. After explaining what the Doom can do and playing according to Adapticon FAQ. Am really looking forward to the official FAQ. When is it coming??!!!??!! (argh….  cough. /rant).

Mission: Capture and Control
Deployment: Spearhead

Note: Pictures are taken at the end of each player turn. Wound markers(white skull) are on the tails of all my Monstrous Creatures.

Space Wolves won roll and deployed first. 03 Landspeeder in deepstriking reserves.

Tyranids Deployment, Doom in deepstriking reserves.

Rolling to seize initiative, Tyranids roll successfully!

Turn01
Nids: Everything moved up. Both Tervigon spawned Termagants and 01 Tervigon rolled doubled. Shooting was ineffective. 01 Tervigon suffered perils of the warp but successfully cast Catalyst on a Hive Guard brood.Only managed to shake a Dreadnought.
View of shaken Dreadnought.

Wolves: Moved a little to get better target. Shooting was ineffective this turn too! Tyrant took a wound from Autocannon. Hive Guard took nothing between cover saves and FNP. RunePriest successful cast Tempest Wrath.

Turn02
Nids:
1. Doom of Malan’tai came in from reserves and deepstruck on me left corner due there is no space to land on the right. Mycetic spore fails dangerous terrain test and took a wound.
2. Tyranids continue to scuttle closer to the Wolves.
3. Tervigon spawn last 17 Termagants as it rolled doubled.
4. Beginning of shooting phase, 02 Greyhunters in Razorback rolled leadership8 test on 3D6. Each rolling 15 & 17 thus they got wiped in transport while my Doom becomes W10.
5. Hive Guards starts shooting out of LOS of most of Wolves units (the pain begins), shakes a Dreadnought and destroyed another.
6. Harpy shakes another Razorback.
7. Mycetic Spore shoots nearest Razorback and took out Lascannon.
8. Tyrant misses all their HVC.
9. Doom casted Cataclysm unsuccessfully due countered by RunePriest.
10. 01 Tervigon successfully cast Catalyst on Hive Guard. The other Tervigon rolled 11 on psychic test.

Wolves: 02 Landspeeders arrived from reserves. Deepstruck away from intended spot but are safe. All vehicles near Doom moved away to prevent a potential str10 monster from assaulting. Shooting saw 1 Hive Guard dead and concentrated shooting on Doom… saw it died to Lascannon. Landspeeder on my left flamed 2 Termagants while the Landspeeder on my top puts 1 wound on my Harpy.

Turn03
Nids: Most continues to move up. Both Harpies move up to handle the Landspeeders. Shooting on my left on Landspeeders saw it whacked. Shooting on Landspeeder on my top saw a weapon destroyed, charged by Harpy but fail to hit. Hive Guards continue to reach out and shakes a Razorback. Mycetic Spore shoots but did nothing. Tyrant shot but both fail to do anything. Termagant moved up and assaulted the Dreadnought, tying it up for the rest of the game. Yet again only 01 Tervigon successfully cast catalyst on Harpy on my top. Roll 11 again.

Wolves:
1. Last Landspeeder came in and deepstruck infront of my Tyrants. Landspeeder puts 1 wound on my Tyrant.
2. Dreadnought moved back and Razorback on my top moved 6″ along his long table edge.
3. Razorback with only TL Plasma shot at Mycetic Spore bringing it down to 1 wound. 2nd Razorback shot Lascannon and instant killed my 1 wound Mycetic Spore.
4. With my now exposed Harpies, luckily only my left Harpy took 2 wounds while my top Harpy took 1(both without any cover saves now).
5. Landspeeder on my top moved towards my objective and flamed, killing a few Termagants.

A quick update:
Tyrant #1: W3
Tyrant #2: W2
Harpy #1: W2
Harpy #2: W2
Hive Guard #1: W4(full wounds)
Hive Guard #2: W1(1 dead with 1 left 1 wound)
Tervigon #1: W5(wound from perils of the warp)
Tervigon #2: W6.

Turn04
Nids:
1. Tervigon on my left cast Dominion but got countered by RunePriest.
2. Harpy on my top moved up towards top Razorback, shots and assaults, whacking it.
3. Harpy on my left passed leadership test(out of synapse) flew up to Predator, assaults and whacked it.
4. Both Tyrants assaults Landspeeder and whacks it.
5. Shooting from Termagant on Landspeeder at my objective saw stunned. Charged by Tervigon but fails to hit on 6s.
6. Termagant on my left passed leadership test(out of synapse) moved up.

Wolves: Dreadnought moved up again, shot Tyrant but nothing happens. All Greyhunters disembarked. Shooting on my top Harpy was ineffective, assaulted and killed it. Shooting on my left Harpy also kills it. Tervigon continues to free hit Landspeeder and destroys it.

Turn05
Nids: Tyrants moved towards opponent objective. Casting Paroxysm from Tyrants but failed again due RunePriest. More Termgants assaults into top Dreadnought. Tyrant assaults Greyhunters and kills of all except RunePriest. 2nd Tyrant assaults Dreadnought, destroyed 1 arm and stunned it.

Wolves: Pressing for time and nothing to shoot, we resolve the combat. We didn’t roll any dice as most probably the RunePriest or Dreadnought is unlikely to survive this round of combat. I will consolidate Tyrant towards the objective to contest.

Game was forced to end here due to time.

POST GAME

  • Apheleon didn’t concentrate fire. He’s guns are shooting at everything, wounding them. He definitely has learn that wounding MC doesn’t stop them.
  • Finally, Landspeeders did what they are suppose to do. But atlas, being so close to MC is really bad thing. Probably could have drop all Landspeeders close together, combine melta the MC to deny me my cover saves. Keeping distance so I cannot charge them.
  • Dreadnought has been tar pit! Getting tied up this way must have been a bad experience. Thanx for Apheleon for still letting me charge the first wave of Termagant into his Dreadnought because I thought Termagant still has fleet and I ran. A side note, I would still be able to reach if I didn’t fleet. Still, wanted him to experience about tar pit unit.
  • GW dice sucks. Glad I am not using them. 😀
  • Hive Tyrant: They can’t seem to hit with Heavy Venom Cannon. Although they are much better in HtH. Paroxysm can turn many battles into easy ones. Still, wonder which can bring more to my games: Tyrant or Tyrannofex. Need more games to tell.
  • Hive Guard: Champion again. Ability to shoot out without granting opponent cover saves is huge.
  • Doom of Malan’tai: It’s a great unit till it’s FAQ. Nothing else much need to be said till than.
  • Harpy: They have a lot reliable shooting compare to my Tyrants. Hitting something 90% of the game. Ability to catch fast moving units is their boon too.
  • Tervigon: Backbone of my army. Without it, I can never hope to win any game.

Cheers.

4 thoughts on “Battle Report: Space Wolves vs Tyranids

  1. GW can suck its dice indeed!

    On another note, great game yesterday, and another great learning experience as I face Tyranids for the first time ever. Those multiwound MCs are tough, tough, tough – gotta remember to focus fire next time around.

    I must say that playing against different armies is eye-opening, devastating and educational at the same time, heh. The discontinuity means that I don’t really know what I’m getting myself into, but I think that’s the only way to go about it ;).

    I’ll be ready for the ‘nids the next time a swarm comes my way again! Until then, I see a vast mechanical army looming in the near future…

  2. Good job guys – I really enjoy the battle reports you’ve done here. It’s nice to see two, fully painted, top-notch 5e armies going after it.

    Good times!

    Brent

    PS; GW dice do, indeed, suck hard! By some bigger ones!

  3. Focus fire on the nearest MC that is closest to you is a must! Then maybe you can throw a unit or two sacrificial units for them to munch up while you shoot them up to delay them reaching your real guns.
    And charge your most killy unit with some support and kill that Tervigon.

Comments are closed.