Sporecon 2012 Day 1 game 1

Day 1 ended and 2 games were played. Another 2 games on sunday. There is 14 participants this year. A rather low turn out. I suspect this is because the games were 2000 points, previous years was 1750, and the rules pack came out last week. This hasn’t give most people time to build their army.

Still the game goes on. With Marines dominating the current 40k scene, it is surprising there is only 4 Marines – 1xBlood Angels, 1xBlack Templars, 1xGrey Knights & 1xDeathwing. Others were 2x Imperial Guards, 2x Tyranids, 1x Dark Eldar, 2x Necrons & 3x Orks. I am playing Deathwing.

Game1 has me pit against a vet who has won a few tournament past years, Tsui. A cool dude who this year brought his Orks.

Mission is a modified KP. HQs worth 3KP, TROOPs worth 1KP per unit and the rest 2KP per unit. Units will always worth their KP where they are originally from. Eg. Deathwing terminators are still 2KP as they are ELITES before they became TROOPS.

Tsui Orks
01 Bigmek (KFF)
01 Warboss (Bike, power claw)
06 lootas
06 lootas
19 shoota boys (2 big shoota)
20 shoota boys (3 big shoota)
07 kommando (snitrot, 2 burna boys)
03 bikers
12 slugga boys (Power claw, wartruk)
12 slugga boys (Power claw, wartruk)
01 deffkopta
01 deffkopta
01 deffkopta
01 battle wagon (roller)
01 battle wagon (roller)
01 killercan (rocket)
01 killercan (rocket)

Tsui won the roll to deploy and went first. I setup defensively as far away as I could and had my terminators bubble wrap the tanks. Tsui had the koptas scout turbo boost than turbo boost again on turn 1 to the side of my wrap baiting me to assault it thus removing the cover save generated to my tanks. Atlas, in 1 turn all 3 were shot, assaulted and eliminated.

Turn 2 had nob bikers assault in to my deathwing terminator squad but got hammered down, leaving only the warboss to fall back.

Whole game was mostly a shooting fest due to heavy terrain board. Like 85%? Only his kommandos managed to assault a predator and wracks it.

image

image

I had a squad of terminator “deathwing assult” into his backline as Tsui pushes every unit he has forward. This bait succeeded their mission as killerkans, 1 truk and warboss were diverted away.

Was a very close game and much was destroyed on both ends. I edged out and won by 1KP.

